REVIEW: 8 Diagrams

8 Diagrams

Since I started listening to real hip-hop in maybe early ’06 (I live in Atlanta for Christ’s sakes), I’ve realized if it’s not a solo Wu CD, it’s damn sure a group album to get me through. Granted I’ve never listened to PE or Run-DMC (ha!), because they’ve never made me want to, I firmly believe the Clan is the best group in hip hop history. OutKast is  a smidget behind at number 2, maybe because it’s only two members and they’ve had only one solo CD apeice, and ATCQ’s at 3.

Recently though these motherfuckers have been arguing like fuckin’ kids over the music style. Rae doesn’t like this shit and RZA does (I guess?) If these motherfuckers can’t get along, why the fuck should I buy it? If you ain’t motivated by the beats is it worthy of copping? But it’s still the Clan, so why not at least listen?

CAMPFIRE ft. Cappadonna

The first minute or so is some stupid ass movie talking, reminds you more of DOOM (who’ll let a movie talk a whole fuckin’ song) rather than RZA. Meth opens with a nice verse, though he bit Kweli with that “I’m tryna bring sexy back like Timbaland and Timberlake” line. Also (unlike Rae) he’s “like Barry Bonds with everything RZA throw.”

Ghost (the only one who’s been active musically and well at it) goes next and makes the gayest lines “We gone have a ball/ Might as well pick a testicle” sound great.

Notice I put featuring Cappadonna, cause IMO he’s not in the Wu (check the cover) and this verse confirmed it. It’s not bad but it was far from great. (On second listen far from good.)

NOTE: Maybe Rae’s salty he didn’t rap over this one, cause it surely sounds like a typical RZA beat.

Best Verse: Ghostface Killah

TAKE IT BACK

The one that flew straight over niggas’ heads. Been on the net for a while now, and no one’s picked up on it. Sounds like I heeard this beat before, but fuck it.

Rae surely sounds like he’s feeling this beat, but maybe cause Easy Mo Bee (where are they now) produced it with RZA. Inspectah Deck delivers as always. (IMO he was the best around Wu-Tang Forever.) I’m starting to think maybe Ghost has the right to have an ego problem, cause he left the darkest mark on this one.

U-God (where are they now without the Wu) spits his best in a while, maybe cause he wants back in. Overall a nice track and potential single.

Best Verse: Ghostface Killah & Inspectah Deck

GET ‘EM OUT YA WAY PA

Sounds like this was made on a rainy day. The beat is so fucking lazy and everyone’s raps just drags along. Meth’s was nice but the hook is horrendous (not that I care for one, but this is terrible). Raekwon sounds a little depressed about his post-Cuban Linx career, or at least about this song. U-God shouldda got kicked back out for this lame ass verse. The best thing I heard him say was something about having someone Frakenstein stiched up. Masta Killa’s arose from the dead and sounds deader than Elvis.

Best Verse: Method Man

RUSHING ELEPHANTS

Beat sounds a little like “Gravel Pit,” but better. Raekwon has a good verse, I guess, and is followed by GZA. His style does not move me at all and is quite annoying. He raps like he’s my fucking science teacher. Not because he drops knowledge, but the way he drops knowledge. Ex: This whole verse.

RZA makes his first appearance and his absurd style still reigns supreme over most of the others. He, INS and Ghost sound like the only ones still in the ’90’s, which is great in their case. Masta Killa finishes the song on a good note.

Best Verse: RZA

UNPREDICTABLE ft. Dexter Wiggles

What kind of grown man would refer to himself as Wiggles. That’s hilarious. But to the song, so far the best beat on the whole album. It’s a shame only Deck and RZA got to rap over it. Inspectah Deck comes hard (no Larry Craig) on this beat. RZA does well too, but I guess that’s natural when you make the beat yourself.

Just to Point Out: Why does RZA get to pick who raps over the beats? As evident here, he can pick himself and he doesn’t have to pick some one. ODB was quite absent on Forever and Ghost has only three appearances. All the other official members appearat least six times. Maybe this is why RZA didn’t give a fuck about Ghost coming out the same day.

Best Verse: Inspectah Deck

THE HEART GENTLY WEEPS ft. Erykah Badu, Dhani Harrison & John Frusciante

The “first” single and Ghostface’s final appearance. He kills this one too but not better than Meth. It’s really medolic and I don’t see the problem with it, just something new. After all, it’s the only song I’ve heard sounding like this so far.

Best Verse: Ghostface Killah & Method Man

WOLVES ft. George Clinton

Has one of those stupid ass George Clinton hooks. I don’t understand the hook, it’s quite dumb. What does he do? This was nothing but him talking with his voice slightly raised. Never mind, I think he’s a junkie.

U-God spits a big pound of nothing, though Meth sounds hungry again since that shit sandwich 4: 21… The Day After. Masta Killa shows a little somethin’ too.

Not too bad if you can get over that shitty-ass-Western-sampling beat.

Best Verse: Method Man

GUN WILL GO ft. Sunny Valentine

Very dark sounding, kinda throws you off from the sample. The hook sucks, maybe because this Sunny Valentine character does. It’s kinda hard to pick a best verse, Meth, Rae and Masta all sound like they just woke up.

Best Verse: GTFOH

SUNLIGHT

What did I just say? How come RZA can get a solo song on here and Ghost can’t be on here more than thrice? I know Dirty, U-God & Rae had solo tracks on Forever, but that was a double disc. Whatever.

Now that I’ve turned my hater meter down, RZA actually does great on this one, maybe one of the best songs the album has to offer. Lines like “The had ears of corn/ And heads of lettuce” bring the track to another level, other couldn’t (or perhaps won’t.)

STICK ME FOR MY RICHES ft. Gerald Alston

DISCLAIMER: Don’t be a fool like me thinking it’s gonna be some gritty ass Biggie sample. 

What the fuck is this guy talking about? He’s singing about being “tired of eating cheese sandwiches with no meat” and “tired of watching all the players from the same scene.” Mathematics produced this one with RZA and the beat is OK.

Meth is really back. I remember when I heard Ghost’s “9 Milli. Bros” from Fishscale and thought Inspectah Deck had lung cancer or some shit. He sounds like he’s been drinking Clorox. RZA sounds like U-God for a second all before GZA comes. GZA’s verse is kinda good on this one and doesn’t sound as old as he did on “Rushing Elephants.”

Best Verse: Method Man

STARTER ft. Streetlife, Sunny Valentine & Tash Mahogany

Gutta-ass beat wasted on some “girl shit.” GZA sounds like the 50-Year Old Virgin on this one and Streetlife sounds like he’s been wacking off since Wu Forever. Deck still sound good and I now remember why U-God and Masta never blew up.

Best Verse: Inspectah Deck

WINDMILL ft. Cappadonna

I’m getting so damn bored with this CD, I don’t feel like writing anymore. Raekwon was okay, I guess. GZA is so old, it’s not even funny any longer. Deck and Meth still doing the shitting on the rest, though Method Man rapped like six bars. Cap should really never rap with them again.

Best Verse: Inspectah Deck (again)

WEAK SPOT

The third “single.” RZA’s first and the song is really lazy as has the rest been. Rae goes. GZA goes.

Best Verse: This will never come out

LIFE CHANGES

The Dirty tribute. Real lovely shit for one of rap’s most missed. Rae said he”Slept with the Black Jesus” (I know they’re not gay but he should watch it.) I tried not to laugh when RZA went but I couldn’t help it. Where’s Ghost?

Best Verse: I miss Ol’ Dirty

TAR PIT ft. Cappadonna, Streetlife & George Clinton

U-God’s the only official member on this one, and he shows his ass. Cap is on this one and saves his best for last. Streetlife also does good. The beat, verses and everything was going right, until I heard the end. George Clinton keeps saying “somebody let the monkeys out the cage” and confirms his junkieness. It’s so horrible it’s hilarious. He goes on forever. He even said “he’ll stick a knife so far up your ass/ You won’t be able to pass verbal gas.”

CONCLUSION:

Is this what I’ve been waiting for? GZA to hit 45? Show Dirty’s importance to the rest? The day the greatest fall apart? It’s crazyily bad. Or maybe it’s not that bad, but I expected something at least as good as Iron Flag, but it’s post-2000 minus Ghostface Wu. Maybe that album minus RZA would be a good idea, (though I doubt it legally.) Matter of fact I can’t blame him, it’s everyone’s fault. Rae sounds uninspired, RZA’s gone mad, U-God and Masta still suck, GZA (I refuse to repeat myself), and Ghost is just about as dead as ODB. Method Man and INS are still there, but can’t make up for the others.

Best Songs: “Take It Back”, “Unpredictable” & “The Heart Gently Weeps”

LYRICS: 8/10 (It’s still the Wu, but they’re no longer at 10)

BEATS: 6/10

OVERALL: 6/10 (It’s over.)

2 Responses to “REVIEW: 8 Diagrams”

  1. I agree mostly with this, however Sunlight was the worst idea on an album chock fucking full of them 😦

  2. nunya bizness Says:

    You should stop listening to hip hop. You don’t understand. It wasn’t made for you. And I bet you have NO TALENT. What makes you think you should RATE IT? Corny MFer.

Leave a comment